top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Cremin

250km done! Gorillas!

I'm really pleased that I have done 250km of my cycling challenge so far and that I only have 50km more to go!


I have decided that my blog today is going to be mainly focused on gorillas who are still at risk of becoming extinct. Because gorillas share 98% of our DNA, they easily can catch illnesses from humans, but they don't have the immune system to combat it. So a mild cold or the flu - and maybe even Covid-19 - can wipe out a whole gorilla group! The WWF has supported work to minimise the risk to mountain gorillas during the coronavirus outbreak.


Did you know that a gorilla group/family is called a troop and a family of gorillas usually contains female gorillas, baby gorillas and one dominant male? Gorillas are extremely intelligent but unfortunately, due to past poaching, human conflict and habitat loss, there are only around 1000 mountain gorillas left in the wild.


We can't let these amazing animals (who are very similar to us) go extinct. Please donate and check out the WWF's website

for more information.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page